Rev3 attempts to shut down Diggnation mirror
Sensationalist titles rock.
For those not “in the know”, Digg.com founder hosts a weekly “podcast” titled Diggnation. A friend and some other people have been mirroring the videos of it on their site, Diggdown.
This logo is promptly displayed on Diggnation’s site:

Now, here’s what was delivered to my friends earlier this week:
http://www.iggdown.net/pdf.pdf
Fun how people still PDFs for legal stuff. Adobe has a strong arm in this market!
Jokes aside, they are being asked to stop providing the mirror of the videos, as well as remove trademarks and association from DIGG / Diggnation.
Now, you see that logo near the top of this page? That’s a Creative Commons licence logo. To me, that being on their page basicly tells me that anything you find on that site [videos/pages/images/text] is Free to copy and Distribute as long as you do not alter it and do not claim ownership of it [as well as cite the author]. Obviously this doesn’t cover trademark issues, but it puzzles me why they would claim copyright infringement.
Diggdown has already renamed their site and begun to remove trademarks from it, but so far they seem to be focused on continuing to mirror the videos.
One thing I didn’t mention was that Diggdown gives users video downloads before the offical release date. That’s why they are upset. Thing is, if they didn’t want that in the first place, they probally shouldn’t put the Creative Commons on their site.
Alright that’s my couple of cents. I’m gonna go tell them they should seek some legal advice and perhaps write back to get clarification on some things [creative commons stuff].
July 4th, 2007 at 4:59 pm
To jerrcs: Striker should go seek some legal advice [you can write to eff.org] - as well as remove any “digg-like” logos from the site [including the stuff writen in the logo's font]. Also stop providing the download for a week while writing back to ask to clarify the Creative Commons issue. Finally, remove all ads, that is a major issue right there. Jerrcs surely will provide free server bandwidth.
But most of all: Seek legal advice from a licenced lawyer. Thank you!
July 5th, 2007 at 9:18 am
If the Creative Commons license is ByNc, they might be mad over the ads. It’s a stretch, but I guess “commercial” could cover the ads on the website.